RESTLESSNESS

July 13, 2014  
 

        Everyday I have the same routine, I get up at 4:45 or 5:00 in the morning, go to the bathroom and clean up before heading out at 5:30 to work. My hours are 6 to 2 p.m., but sometimes I am there until about 3. I return home after a 20 minute drive and walk into the house with little children running around and screaming.  After a hard day, that is the last thing I need to be hearing! It really sucks!!!  

        Back in December 2013, I said ‘goodbye’ to a job I really enjoyed so I could spend more time with my family, especially my granddaughters.  Now that I have been here for 6 months, I am not happy or satisfied.  Everyone is getting on my nerves and I am feeling like it is time for me to go.  Visions of the road are on my mind everyday.  I find myself in places I’ve traveled through when I was out there.  Even though, I’ve said the biggest thing about the road I didn’t like is using so many different bathrooms, I still want to go back.  I am happiest out there! I’ve been sitting around way too much! I have tried to work 2 jobs to take my mind off of being out there but I still feel like I have to go!  

I love my grandbabies more than life but Gramma gotta go! I’m sleeping too much, watching too much TV, eating way too much, and twiddling my thumbs a lot; if those are not reasons to hit the highway, nothing is!!  Don’t get me wrong, I love my family, too, but staying around here is DRIVING ME CRAZY!!!  

So needless to say, I am looking for another driving job, something that will bring me home on the weekends, maybe. Seriously though, I think I was born to ride the highways and byways, keeping the truck moving, stopping by home every couple of weeks to say ‘hi’.  I will get rid of all the things I put in storage and return to the road until I can’t do it anymore.    

As we truckers say, “Whoop whoop, trukkin up!”

Published by mjc1520

I have been a driver for the past 25 years and have two children and two granddaughters that mean the world to me. Blogging is something I've always wanted to do. When I am not blogging and running the road, you will find me sitting in front of my sewing machine, making my granddaughters clothes for their dolls, or something for them. I find sewing to be relaxing!

2 thoughts on “RESTLESSNESS

  1. Appreciating the time and energy you put into your website and in depth information you offer.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while
    that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Fantastic read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Like

Leave a comment